Organizational Structure and Functions, by Offices or Departments

This page contains a general description of the structure of Banco de la República and its divisions, sections and departments.

Law 31 of 1992 stipulates the Bank is subject to its own legal regime. Consequently, its organization, structure, functions and powers, and the contracts to which it is party, are determined and governed exclusively by the rules contained in the Colombian Constitution, in the aforementioned law, and in the Bank's bylaws (Decree 2520 of 1993).

Accordingly, the bylaws establish the basic structure for the Bank’s management and administration, which includes the Board of Directors, the Administrative Council, the Governor (General Manager) and the Technical and Executive Governors. The Board of Directors is empowered to determine the functions of the Technical and Executive Governors and to approve the basic organizational structure not provided for in the bylaws.